Race Report

Sorry I havent posted in awhile… Its been a busy time!

Two weekends ago was my last race of the season until the 1/2 Ironman July 30! It was in Tempe AZ and it was a 1500 meter swim, 24 .6 mi bike and a 6.2 mi run. I was sick to my stomach the week before but seemed to get better just in time to race so I went ahead and did it!

The swim was delightful in temope town lake. They even had wetsuit strippers so that when you come out of the lake they pull the wetsuit off for you. It was the first race that they had them. It was great! I didnt have to wrestle with the girdle like thing at all! I did the swim in 38 minutes (including the wetsuit stripping and all). I was OK with that.

I mounted the bike and off I went enjoying the bike course although it was two loops around tempe with 3 U turns  in each loop, requiring more bike handling skills than I practiced!  I was happy with my time of 1:33. I wasnt aware of just how hot it was getting onthe bike due to the wind created by cycling sooo…

Then the run. Oh my was it hot. About 80 degrees at the start of the run and while my first 2 miles went OK I really heated up fast. The run had 2 loops also and I was not happy on the 2nd loop but when I hit mile 4 I realized only 2 miles to go… I can do that. Those last 2 miles were so uncomfortable I began to walk and run. I was so happy to cross the finish line! It wasnt a record to say the least but I did it!

And now its back to training for Barbs race. Waking up at 4:30 isnt early enough as summer is here already. I will be like the video on youtube. Watch at your own risk!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B03dFMG8nR4.

Thankfully I am only doing a half ironman.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment